Something’s Gotta Give

Ok, I have a confession to make. 

 
 I have an addiction. 
 
I know I know, I’m just as shocked as you are.  It just makes me feel so good. The anticipation of making it and then taking it in sends an exciting, tingly feeling throughout my tastes buds…that’s right I’m a teaholic.  I love sweet tea! I gave up diet coke because of the aspartame used to sweeten it. Actually, my husband convinced me to give it up because of how bad it is for my body.  So, instead, I replaced it with sweet tea…not good! It’s so full of sugar. 
 
SUGAR!
 
You know, that sweet, yummy goodness that’s used in almost everything to make it taste oh so good.  If I’m honest with myself, and all of you, I’m addicted to food! Not just sweet tea…put me in a kitchen and it’s like putting an alcoholic who’s trying to quit drinking in a bar.  Am I right?  
 
Something’s gotta give. I’m tired of being the chubby girl.  What I really want, is to walk in a room and take my husbands breath away. Is that a bad thing? I know he loves me and tells me I’m beautiful, but you know what I’m talking about. Every woman’s dream…you walk in a room in that beautiful dress you’ve been eyeing and when your husband sees you, he stops what he’s doing and just stares at you…and then when he tries to say something, he can’t…he has no words.  
 
I want to be able to run a marathon with my husband and keep up with him!
 
Why is this such a battle. It’s like my heart, my mind, and my cravings argue with each other. What’s a girl to do? 
 
Genesis 2:9 says “And out of the ground the Lord God made every tree grow that is pleasant to the sight and good for food.  The tree of life was also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.” 
 
That first part gets me.  “And out of the ground the Lord God made every tree grow that is pleasant to the sight and good for food…”. If God says its good, then shouldn’t it be good? And if God says its pleasant to look at, then shouldn’t we feel the same?  Our taste buds, cravings and brains have been corrupted by all the artificially processed food that we’ve grown accustomed to.  So much so, that the very food God intended for us to eat disgusts us.  
 
Recently, I have begun researching Juicing.  A lot of you might have heard of the documentary “Sick, Fat, and Nearly Dead”.   Well, let me tell you, if you haven’t already seen it, you ought to.  It has changed my take on fruits and veggies.  I’m still trying to convince my husband to let me get a juicer.  His concern?  He doesn’t think I’ll stick to it and it costs to much money to invest for me to just give up.  I can’t blame him. But, I want it so badly!  I had my first juice yesterday.  It was so delicious! There were FOUR whole carrots in them. Not those little ones your mom packs in your lunch box, but the really long ones you see Bugs Bunny eating.  I’m convinced I’ll stick to it! 
 
Say a prayer he’ll say yes! I’ll keep you posted! 
 Image
One thought on “Something’s Gotta Give

Leave a Reply

